Author Topic: 508 resource limit reached  (Read 1322 times)

Offline dwaino

  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
508 resource limit reached
« on: July 03, 2012, 07:03:42 PM »
Too many Craw rants.
Kick a crow.

Dubstep Dookie

  • Guest
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 08:12:02 PM »
How annoying  :banghead

Offline Coach

  • Hardly A Prude
  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • *****
  • Posts: 8768
  • Depend on Schulzy
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 08:40:36 PM »
Craw is a selfish poster.

Dubstep Dookie

  • Guest
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2012, 09:03:55 PM »
Its greedy, and unfair on the rest of the site members here who limit their posts accordingly.


Offline dwaino

  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2012, 09:56:18 PM »
ration posts and character counts  :banghead

great comrade commands it
Kick a crow.

Offline Coach

  • Hardly A Prude
  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • *****
  • Posts: 8768
  • Depend on Schulzy
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2012, 11:14:28 PM »
Ban Craw like PRE did.

gerkin greg

  • Guest
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 11:51:54 PM »
This thread needs more list management discussion, development projection analysis, and ass

Offline dwaino

  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2012, 11:57:44 PM »
haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhh hhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrggghhhhhhhhhhhhh haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrgghhh


Kick a crow.

gerkin greg

  • Guest
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2012, 12:04:38 AM »
 :lol yeß

Offline one-eyed

  • Administrator
  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • *****
  • Posts: 60611
    • One-Eyed Richmond
Re: 508 resource limit reached
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2012, 03:30:31 AM »
I'll contact our hosts about it later today. The usage numbers haven't changed significantly recently to explain why we should be getting such an error message.