Author Topic: Middle East tension  (Read 4441 times)

Offline tiga

• Exhaling Carbon in the
  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • Yes Hampson has taken a mark!
Middle East tension
« on: July 16, 2006, 12:03:28 PM »
I know this may be a taboo topic to some and I am by no means an expert on middle east affairs but if anyone is interested expressing their views, lets discuss....

I'm not a fence sitter on this one, IMO the Israeli's are not handling this well at all. Their arrogance with regards to local affairs is appauling.
They treat their neighbours with utter contempt and react with the subtlety of a sledgehammer. Have they ever stopped and thought why this is all happening??
I know this all goes back to the beginning of time but how the modern state of Israel was founded in 1948 is the basis of what is happening today. Religion once again is misused as a conduit for violence.
If people react with violence in the name of Religion, they feel they can do so with a clear conscience. Whether it's the name of God or Allah, its all the same.

It all starts with religious indifference which then grows into day to day acts of violence, bigotry and torment by both sides. Until everyone agrees to respects each others religious beliefs
no matter how much they differ from their own, the voilence will continue.

George Bush stated that all of this violence would stop if Hesbullah lay down their weapons. Wouldn't it be great if we all had such a simplistic view to all of this as George W does.  :banghead
Better a man to keep his mouth shut and for people to think him a fool, than to open it and prove it. What a tool.  :wallywink
Does he honestly think that all the voilence, anger and hatred will stop just because one faction decides to lay down their arms?? Gimme a break!!

Whilst both sides are killing each other with a clear conscience in the name of religion, nothing will change. Sadly, I fear this won't happen in mine or my child's lifetime.

Moi

Re: Middle East tension