Author Topic: Routers vs Switches  (Read 1198 times)

Offline 1965

• RFC Hall of Fame
  • Don't water the rocks
Routers vs Switches
« on: February 13, 2012, 06:52:24 PM »

Can anybody tell me  (in layman's terms ) the difference between routers and switches?

:cheers

dwaino

Re: Routers vs Switches
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 10:21:19 AM »
The very question means if you're comparing the two then definitely go for a router :p.

A router acts as the central LAN point and gateway to the net. A switch and/or hub configuration requires one computer to act as the router and would require multiple network adapters to serve both LAN and WAN (since it is acting as the gateway and central hub point). Routers are handy due to in built firewalls in the firmware so you don't risk putting a gateway computer in the DMZ.

A pro can feel free to correct me, I'm a hobbyist and not a network/computer tech :p

Appendix:
LAN- local area network
WAN- wide area network
DMZ- demilitarised zone ie raw unprotected interwebs

Offline tiga

• Exhaling Carbon in the
  • RFC Hall of Fame
  • Yes Hampson has taken a mark!
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 11:09:53 AM »

Can anybody tell me  (in layman's terms ) the difference between routers and switches?

:cheers

65, To complicate things you can actually get switches that route. They are called layer 3 switches.

But let me put it in simple terms...

Routing is the transferring of data between segregated or separated networks whereas a switch communicates data to computers and peripherals within each network.

For example, lets say you have a network at home on an IP address range of 10.10.0.0 to 10.10.0.254.

Now your network is private (or at least i am hoping so)